//
you're reading...
Medical/ Health Updates

Gene for ‘long-sightedness’ identified!

I am glad to learn that the Melbourne’s Center for Eye Research, Australia, have found the gene ‘hepatocyte growth factor (HGF)’ responsible for causing long sightedness in humans.

Until now, the treatment of long sightedness are glasses, contact lenses and laser techniques. But, having identified the gene HGF, one can seek treatment, even if symptomatic relief, with help of drugs. That means no more looking through glasses!

This Gene Discovery resultant of studying DNA of 551 adults ( australian) has directed research efforts to improve global eye health. What I find good out of this is that this discovery will help cure/ treat short-sightedness with drugs too. And I can also get rid of my glasses, if it happens. I had tried contact lenses but the exercise of taking ‘great care’ of the lenses put me off! It is too taxing on me.

Another advantage of the discovery…I can meet eye to eye now!!

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Gene for ‘long-sightedness’ identified!

  1. HGF as the name suggests is expressed primarily in the liver .. hmm .. i am curious what it has to do with eyesight. post a link to the article

    Like

    Posted by avalok ishwar | February 5, 2010, 1:18 am
  2. I had the same instinctive response as avalok ishwar when I read the name hepatocyte . I guess they know what they’re doing. If this discovery is supported by independent research, we might need to rename the gene!

    Like

    Posted by liberalcynic | March 6, 2010, 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 87,257 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

