//
you're reading...
National Issues/ Economy/ Politics

Cool….Rahul Gandhi takes the local train in Mumbai!

Rahul Gandhi takes local train in Mumbai

Rahul Gandhi is really unpredictable!

He would visit a poor Dalit’s hut to have dinner with them or stop at ‘Rhediwala’ ( push cart) stall by the roadside, to sip his hot tea from an ordinary tea-glass at late hours in the night. Probably, inspired by Mahatma Gandhi, who traveled all over India in the local trains to learn about India’s problems, I can sense that Rahul is on the right path to revolutionize Indian politics ( that he talks about often) and clean up the muck!

Shiv Sena’s game plan fell flat and deflated. Kudos to Rahul for meeting co-passengers on his way to Ghatkopar in the local train with ‘accomodative’ security. What better way to understand Amchi Mumbai?( I know each one in mumbai can claim it to be own with Rahul showing the way). Earlier, Shiv Sena had organized protest through carrying Black flags en route of Rahul’s visit to Mumbai for his support to North Indians in Mumbai.

Rahul’s journey through the heart of Mumbai – from Vile Parle ( closest station to airport) to Ghatkopar – took him to Dadar, considered one of the bastions of Marathi Manoos/ sectional politics, as he spent 4 hours in the city. All the while, he was talking to the co-passengers and people at the stations. The protest of shiv sena, really a ‘paper tiger’ after this incident, to stop North Indians getting into Mumbai failed completely as Rahul stepped out to shake hands with the vote bank. Though, I am sure… that he is really concerned about the welfare of people as heard in his public speeches, by his vision to clean up Indian politics, by his being reluctant to take up higher positions that are not earned by him, he feels.

” My father is born in Mumbai and my mother in Italy, My great grandfather was born in Allahabad, and he also had origins in J & K. I live in Delhi. Tell me, Where should I say I belong to? I know one thing – that I am an Indian and belong to India” Well said, Rahul!
Way to GO!!

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Cool….Rahul Gandhi takes the local train in Mumbai!

  1. <>

    What I wonder is why Indians can’t understand he can say the same thing in Italy. My Mother is born in Italy, her entire family is from here. So I belong to Italy.

    Like

    Posted by The Mockalist | February 6, 2010, 8:12 pm
  2. “My father is born in Mumbai and my mother in Italy, My great grandfather was born in Allahabad, and he also had origins in J & K. I live in Delhi. Tell me, Where should I say I belong to? I know one thing – that I am an Indian and belong to India”

    What I wonder is why Indians can’t understand he can say the same thing in Italy. My Mother is born in Italy, her entire family is from here. So I belong to Italy.

    Like

    Posted by The Mockalist | February 6, 2010, 8:16 pm
  3. his visit was really symbolic and he did prove a point. i doubt if it was purely to impress the voter bank, but he did leave all spellbound.

    btw, your post is featured in Mumbai mirror bloggers park today, pg 24! check out http://www.mumbaimirror.com/index.aspx?Page=article&sectname=Mumbai%20Talking%20-%20Bloggers%20Park&sectid=41&contentid=2010020720100207023734884c4103e2a

    Like

    Posted by MUMBAI LOCAL BLOG | February 7, 2010, 12:15 pm
  4. @The Mockalist – your comment is not entirely correct. He can’t for example say the following things in Italy, that my father was a PM of this country, as was my grandfather and my great grandfather (who in fact, was the first PM of this country) was one of the important figures in the freedom struggle for this country ! Hope that clarifies things for you a little bit !

    Like

    Posted by avalok ishwar | February 8, 2010, 8:15 am
  5. in the previous comment, it should read, “as was my grandmother and my great grandfather ..” typo error.

    Like

    Posted by avalok ishwar | February 8, 2010, 8:16 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: In Indian Politics, the youth should lead from the front ! « Adipurusha - January 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 86,332 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

