//
you're reading...
Leisure

A haircut for Rs 1 lakh..

“It is normally unlike….that Ladies will opt for a ‘dry haircut’ ! Usually, men prefer that instead. But, lately…. our ‘lovelies’ are warming up to the idea of a ‘dry haircut’ and ‘bounce’ and Rod Anker, an Australian, the creative director at the Kim Robinson Hair Studio, New Delhi ….is having admirers of his ‘hair styling’ service, who pay Rs 1 lakh to get their haircut done by him. The Studio has branches across South East Asia and the West, like in Singapore, Hong Kong….Rod Anker is flown across the world by his clients to get a haircut done by him” reports Midday Mirror.

What a waste of money…I said to myself as I glanced through this article. A Haircut for many like me is just like mowing the outsize grass on the lawn in the front yard of the house! And, of course it is done for hygienic reasons too….in a ‘clean’ saloon without remote controlled levitating cushy chairs and entire gamut of hair products. The newspapers/ magazines should be there to read while I am waiting for my turn to get the haircut done, preferably by the same ‘barber’ ( not a hair stylist). The same barber is preferred so that he knows what kind of haircut I require and what sort of head massage I can tolerate. Nothing more than that. The entire experience lasts not beyond twenty minutes once I get a turn. I do not agree to my barber’s frequent plea to get my hair dyed ( I like it natural ) or get a ‘facial’ done. In fact, I do not prefer shaving done by him as I feel that it is not such a difficult task requiring exceptional skills. ‘Only a haircut and nothing else’, I tell him every time. If I am in a good mood, I tip him for his service.

So, I cannot appreciate why all this ‘hulla bulloo’ about the hair-styling, facial, pedicure, manicure, bleaching (for women), eye brow trimming (for aspiring to be ‘beautiful’ ladies)! Really, one cannot become younger by dying his hair black, one cannot become beautiful by applying facial cake, and of course, one is expected to keep his toe and finger nails clean by himself and lastly, for ladies, bleaching can be done at home too. But, I am willing to consider the hardship of ‘bleaching’ at home so I do not have any reason to oppose that.

Mahatma Gandhi used to do his own haircut and also, he felt that one should wear clothes spun by himself. Definitely, I do not recommend so much self-reliance and I do not try to imitate Gandhi and do my own haircut. But, Cool..let us realize that money well spent weighing the utility for spending, is money earned. Also, one should not practice so much self-indulgence that he becomes so dependent on others, external objects, ‘not easy to change’ habits ….that when they are not available, he or she becomes unhappy.

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A haircut for Rs 1 lakh..

  1. Funny .. but one clarification: During his later years, Mahatma Gandhi’s haircut was quite easy to do .. fortunately (or unfortunately), members of our brood still have head full of hair..

    Like

    Posted by avalok ishwar | February 24, 2010, 11:52 pm
    • yeah. funny the life is…some feel extravagance is funny and other feel frugality is funny…at times i find that people have funny ways of – living, judging, pleasing themselves as being hedonistic, hurting others that is disgusting, helping others to the extent of admiration, and i say each one to his indulgence……

      Like

      Posted by rambuna | February 25, 2010, 1:54 pm
  2. Many thanks Raman,

    I just stumbled accross your blog and very seldom comment but feel the need to clarify for you and your readers.

    Our Singature ” Dry Cut ” is not cutting simply dry, it is cutting in the natural form of the hair to ensure the hair sits the way you expect long after you have left the salon.
    Hair is has a natural texture and movement that is unique to everyone and needs to be treated differently hence make sense unless you wear your hair wet 24/7 that it is cut in the way you normally wear it…Dry. Of course in a salon such as kimrobinson you always have a wonderful shampoo and massage after the cut. But it is a method which we have been trained on over many many years to work together with the hair and treat it in such a way your hair moves the way it is meant to rather than a ” Standard” one size fits all approach.

    Of course having hairdressers/ stylists in India vs a Barber is a new concept, i can assure you many many people prior to us openign flew overseas to get there hair done. Excessive? No not if you have the means to get the look you actually want.

    Anyway thanks again and hope this helps in understanding our ” Dry Cut” better.

    Like

    Posted by Rod Anker | February 21, 2011, 9:14 pm
    • Hi Rod,

      I am glad you commented! I can see/ appreciate the benefits of hair styling/ dry cut – well explained in your comment! And, I do agree, many flew overseas to get it done the right way. Niche marketing? Unfortunately, it is excessive in a country like ours but I cannot grudge those who can afford it! The article was written to highlight ‘how’ haircut is important to many, so much so, it feels funny to those who cannot afford it.

      Like

      Posted by rambuna | February 22, 2011, 10:43 am
    • And thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Posted by rambuna | February 22, 2011, 11:08 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 84,511 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

