//
you're reading...
Leisure

It is not a woman’s world as yet!

I am quite sure when I say that it is not a woman’s world as yet! I am not particularly undecided in my opinion, when I am termed as Male chauvinist ( which I am not) or of old school of thoughts because of my belief. The figures and data support me and that instils firmness in my opinion.

I always thought (still I do) that Hillary did not get a fair and level playing field in the US presidential elections, because she was a woman. I am not saying that she is better than Obama. But, she was the wife of US President for 8 years and was more experienced than Obama was with his 4 years stint in the senate. What President? Her country has not even elected a female vice president as yet! But then, people do not agree with me if I claim there is gender inequality in the west. Just freedom on the bed…..necessarily need not mean actual independence for women in their lives.

So, what is the problem? What is stopping women to become what they can be? The reason is…women need a man in their life..a powerful surname besides her personal competence to make it in a world largely dominated by men in every field (really!). For many years, it has been a Man’s world and it requires special skills and determination in the women who succeed in such a world. I am happy that the numbers of such ‘women’ is increasing. In India, women really do not even get a chance, with only 10.8% women in Lok Sabha and a dismal 9% in Rajya Sabha. India ranks 99th on the world scale in this aspect. The rank is better in the west but it is still trailing compared to men in the parliament/ congress. The reservation bill, if passed in the Lok Sabha, will bring some parity but surely will not bridge the gap.

Women are not notoriously tough like men are to make it on their own. Again, I am talking of the majority in their gender. But the roles are changing which I do not disagree with. In fact, I am strong proponent for the woman’s place in the world. But, I feel they succeed more as a king maker or by facilitating success of their men.

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: How can the Indian women progress in the coming years ? | Adipurusha - March 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 81,978 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Management Consultant

Archives

