//
you're reading...
Leisure

Men in the metro towns…case of gender blender!

As I waited in the car outside the hotel in the early morning of yesterday…to pick up my boss on my way to the airport, I did not realize I would face a question like the one I did. After a long wait lasting 30 minutes, he got in to the car and we both exchanged greetings as usual. He confessed to me that the service at the hotel was not so pleasant and he had not even drank tea. For which, I gladly mentioned I made my own tea … always in the mornings, though today .. I needed a quick breakfast too. To this, he was being politely inquisitive to know about the culture in a city like ‘Bombay’ .. to know whether a wife gets up earlier to prepare breakfast. And I said .. it depends … but it is not compulsory, if she chooses to not get up earlier.

Now, this is what ‘gender blender’ is all about in the metro towns that I would like to highlight. In a metro city, the costs being quite high, normally the couple works ..both are employed. The days are long and the nights are short, especially if there are morning duties of getting your child ready and sent to school, preparing breakfast, lunch for the day etc. For long, I have been a dutiful partner in helping out my wife in the kitchen in the mornings as well in the evenings if I am at home. There is collaborative effort! There are so many issues concerning gender equality and the times have changed now. I am not particularly perturbed if I have to prepare the dinner or help in preparing breakfast during the mornings, though my role may be just of being a ‘helper’.

There is nothing like ‘specific’ roles meant for men or women! When women choose to go out and earn for the family, she expects her man to help out or even prepare for the dinner, if required. In fact, I use to help my wife even when she was not working outside! Sometimes, just a helping hand is enough for her. It makes it easy for her! It also equips me with necessary culinary skills so that I can manage on my own, when I am alone.

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 84,608 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

