//
you're reading...
Sports News/ Personalities

Why M S Dhoni should remain the captain?

Actually I have stopped watching cricket intensely like I did in my youth. But I have been keeping myself updated on the game and select players. I watched Sunil Gavaskar ( I am a fan of his style of batting and square cut drive on the ON side) and Vishwanath for their ‘book style’ technique in their batting. When one is young, sports mean a lot and I think I given up my intense interest in sports for quite long. I am just a casual observer nowadays.

MS Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, is the ‘cool’ captain we have ever had. So, it is surprising to read that he is going to be dropped as a captain. Cricket stars are like film stars in our country….the moment they fail at the box office they are instantly replaced. No doubt, the Indian team did not fare well in the T20 games in the world cup 2010. But, let us not forget….. Dhoni got us the first world cup title in T20 format of cricket. He has done well in all the three formats…ODI, Tests and T20. And, there is no one better than him in our team to lead the side. Recently, he got the ‘Chennai Super kings’ to win the IPL series. The Board (BCCI) has never been steady and stable like other cricketing boards in other countries but is known for its ‘knee-jerk’ reactions.

Now, to blame him for all that is ailing in the Indian cricket team is not really fair! It is quite unjust and unfair to target Dhoni especially when ‘luck’ also has a role in success.

MS Dhoni got the prestigious Padmashri award last year. His successful track record as a captain is nearing 80 percentile. So, it does not make sense to replace him at this stage…when the 50 overs ODI World Cup 2011 matches are scheduled soon. Virendra Sehwag is a good opening batsman….though he has never lead his team any time! Not even in the IPL series!! Will it be right to consider him as the captain instead of Dhoni?

Do you think it is fair to target Dhoni for Indian debacle in the current T20 series?

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why M S Dhoni should remain the captain?

  1. I like Sunil Gavaskar a lot too .. I guess that reveals something about our age 🙂 I still cannot get as excited about the new young players, but I have not watched cricket that much lately. Watching Sunny bat when Joel Garner was coming down on him with 4 slips standing next to Dereck Murray the wicket-keeper was one of the greatest memories I have.. Oh, and one minor correction – Square cut is on the off side .. On side is the other side.

    Like

    Posted by avalok ishwar | May 16, 2010, 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 84,608 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

