you're reading...
National Issues/ Economy/ Politics

Bihar Assembly Elections 2010

The Election Commission has announced the elections to the 243-member Bihar Legislative Assembly in six phases ā€” on October 21, 24, 28, November 1, 9 and 20. Votes will be counted on November 24.

Just recently, the Ayodhya Verdict was out! Bihar goes to polls at an interesting time and it is to be seen whether the Ayodhya verdict will be used to woo the ‘identity’ votes. Nitish Kumar, chief minister of Bihar, has carefully strategy to focus on governance related issues and not towards identity, caste or communal mobilisation. He has to be pro active and carefully watch and decide what will be his election campaign. Lalu Prasad Yadav (Rashtriya Janata Dal) and Ram Vilas Paswan (Lok Janshakti party) are electorally combined to contest the JD(U)-BJP combine ( Nitish Kumar). If the issue becomes communal polarisation – then Nitish’s development work done could go for a toss!

The fight of governance vs identity will decide the electoral outcome; and surely, Lalu Prasad Yadav & Ram Vilas Paswan are better positioned when it comes to politics other than governance related. But, Nitish has a point – he has turned around the Bihar’s economy remarkably during his chief minister-ship, and he is appealing to the Bihar electorate to focus on development of the state. Industries in Bihar are in praise of Nitish for business connectivity and better law and order situation leading to creation of more jobs within the state. Though, the delivery of public goods and services are lacking in the state.

I hope that during this assembly elections, development of the state takes precedence and the situation does not regress to old slogans!


About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.


2 thoughts on “Bihar Assembly Elections 2010

  1. Who can best represent my constituency

    Dr. Murari Mohan Jha
    Indian National Congress (INC)

    Shyam Bharti
    Communist Party of India (M) (CPI(M))

    Mandan Sahni
    Janata Dal (United) (JD(U))

    Hari Nandan Yadav
    Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

    Baidhnath Yadav
    Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) (CPI (ML))

    Hi Friends,You can vote and comment by clicking following URL Link:
    (If the link doesn’t work while clicking, please copy the above URL and paste it in your web browser address bar.)
    For More Polls Visit : http://www.opinionpoll.in
    Your Opinion Matters………..


    Posted by Gowri | October 6, 2010, 7:16 pm


  1. Pingback: World Spinner - October 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog Stats

  • 91,023 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.



%d bloggers like this: