//
you're reading...
Travel Updates/ Notes

A visit to Sabarmati Ashram in 2004

In the year 2004, I took some time off after my business meeting in Ahmedabad to visit the Gandhi Ashram at sabarmati, a wish that was pending for a long time. Later in 2006, I was in South Africa but I could not visit the Tolstoy farm because of other compelling reasons related to business.

During my visit, as I moved from one room to another, I could not believe that Gandhiji lived with such frugal means and was confident/ courageous enough to fight with British Empire to get freedom for India. The personal belongings of his are there as it is. Gandhiji and Kasturbaji had separate bedrooms in the ashram that spoke of his renunciation of basic urges. I purchased some books written by him including his autobiography, “The Story of My experiments with the Truth” – that i read completely at a stretch, motivated by my visit to the Ashram.

Excerpts from the site.. The Gandhi Ashram at Sabarmati –

“While at the Ashram, Gandhi formed a school that focused on manual labour, agriculture, and literacy to advance his efforts for self-sufficiency. It was also from here on the 12 March 1930 that Gandhi launched the famous Dandi march 241 miles from the Ashram (with 78 companions) in protest of the British Salt Law, which taxed Indian salt in an effort to promote sales of British salt in India. This mass awakening filled the British jails with 60 000 freedom fighters. Later the government seized their property, Gandhi, in sympathy with them, responded by asking the Government to forfeit the Ashram. Then Government, however, did not oblige. He had by now already decided on 22 July 1933 to disband the Ashram, which later became asserted place after the detention of many freedom fighters, and then some local citizens decided to preserve it. On 12 March 1930 he vowed that he would not return to the Ashram until India won independence. Although this was won on 15 August 1947, when India was declared a free nation, Gandhi was assassinated in January 1948 and never returned”.

This is a great moment I want to share with you all..

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Who gave the title of ‘Mahatma’ to M K Gandhi (Bapu or Gandhiji) ? | Adipurusha - October 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 82,826 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Archives

