//
you're reading...
Leisure

25th BharatNatyam Arangetram on 29th Sept, 2013 at Gadkari Hall, Thane !

arangetram-gadkari-sep-29
(Photo: Young aspiring and trained students of the dance – Archita, Elissa and Poorva expressing the nuances of BharatNatyam at the Gadkari Hall, Thane west)

Asha Sunilkumar, BharatNatyam Exponent cum Mentor, excitedly wrote in her Facebook invitation to all, ‘Each and every Arangetram is unique and special but if numbers are something to go by, this Arangetram is a milestone. 29th September will mark the 50th student from the Sanskriti Academy doing her Arangetram – co-incidence is that it also marks the 25th Arangetram presented by the Academy.’

arangetram-gadkari-29-sept-13

BharatNatyam simplified – 🙂

There are three types of dance : Nritta, Nritya and Natya
– 1) Nritta is a pure dance without any emotions, expressions or sahityam. eg., Alarippu, Swarajathi, Jatiswaram.
– 2) Nritya has sahityam ( a sentence which means something). It has emotions, expressions and has a meaning shown by the hastas. eg., Ganeshakautvam, Ranganjali, Karthikeyakautvam.
– 3) Natya is when a person is portraiting a character. eg., All padams

There are four types of abhinaya in dance, they are:
– 1) Anghika – Physical or body movements.
– 2) Vachika – the song being played, poetry
– 3) Aaharya – Ornamentation of a character/dancer e.g. jewellery, costume
– 4) Satvika – Involuntary movements e.g. trembling, break of voice, tears

arangetram-gadkari-29-sept-group

BharatNatyam Arangetram of Archita, Elissa and Poorva was a stupendous success, as I learned from Asha Sunilkumar. Since I had some pre-occupation, I could not attend this event. I wish the ‘Sanskriti Academy of Fine Arts’ team greater success with every event they organize !!

About Raman Ramamurthy

I am a Management consultant, an avid reader, play Lawn tennis in my leisure time and love Music. Presently, I am settled in India along with my wife and my son.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “25th BharatNatyam Arangetram on 29th Sept, 2013 at Gadkari Hall, Thane !

  1. Good afternoon Mr Ramamurthy. I was surfing the net for information on arangetrams when I came across this post. My daughter and her two friends are in the last year of learning Bharatnatyam and are due for their arangetram very soon. I would appreciate if I can get an idea of how much expense is involved in an arangetram especially when three girls are involved. would you be able to help me?

    S Menon

    Like

    Posted by S. Menon | October 25, 2013, 1:13 pm
  2. I really feel sorry that I missed this saga of Indian dance form that too at Thane because I had no idea about this exclusive event. Next time I will take care that I dont miss such an beautiful event in Thane. The managers of the event should have made more advertisement in popular mediums so that the interested people will not miss this event.

    Like

    Posted by Banquet halls in thane | September 30, 2014, 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 81,977 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Author

Management Consultant

Archives

